Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
1 L per min. Now with plate pics
Author Message
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
1 L per min. Now with plate pics
Still have the low production issue. Some of you wanted to see pics of the plates. Well here they are. http://community.webshots.com/user/ran440
Just look for HHO pics. Let me Know if you want more while it is still apart.
BTW I am still getting the rusty water after running it on my truck for about 10 hours. Most of the water was pee colored, but in the very bottom was very red rust crap. These plates were cleaned and conditioned for many hours over the course of 2 weeks.
Thanks for your interest,
Randy
10-25-2008 11:30 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
realtyroy Offline
Member
***

Posts: 158
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: 1 L per min. Now with plate pics
ran440 Wrote:Still have the low production issue. Some of you wanted to see pics of the plates. Well here they are. http://community.webshots.com/user/ran440
Just look for HHO pics. Let me Know if you want more while it is still apart.
BTW I am still getting the rusty water after running it on my truck for about 10 hours. Most of the water was pee colored, but in the very bottom was very red rust crap. These plates were cleaned and conditioned for many hours over the course of 2 weeks.
Thanks for your interest,
Randy

With 4 boosters going I would think you would do better than 1lpm. Looking at your pictures I have to wonder about the hardware you used to bolt the plates together. Are they for sure stainless? Some of your plates on the edges look rusty as well as the bolts and nuts.
That's the first thing that came to my mind when I saw the pics.
Maybe someone else will have a better idea.
Good Luck!
Roy

RealtyRoy-HHO Scambuster
http://pmgen.com/hhoscambusters/

2002 Dodge Durango SLT 4.7
2001 Audi A6 2.8 Quattro
1964 Chev Impala SS 409 My baby!

A day is a day but the day I save gas is a good day!!
(This post was last modified: 10-25-2008 12:09 PM by realtyroy.)
10-25-2008 12:08 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #3
RE: 1 L per min. Now with plate pics
Nice looking cell. Although it's common to have some brown residue in a new cell, usually it goes away. The only place I saw a problem with your cells is on certain edges. It didn't seem to be a hardware issue. How long on this electrolyte? You're not using baking soda, right?

It appears you have room in your cell for wider spacing, but your bolts aren't long enough to double the width so you'd need longer bolts and more washers or leave off some plates.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
10-25-2008 01:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: 1 L per min. Now with plate pics
The electrolyte has about 10 hours on it. 1 week.
Using 100% pure NaOH. Distilled water.
Everything is SS.
I picked up longer bolts and more washers in anticipation of widening the spacing. Just wanted to hear from someone that this could be my problem.
Someone said I will never get over 1 L per min. as long as I was getting 3 volts per cell.. Right now I am just over 3 volts.
Gona work on the spacing first, I think.
(This post was last modified: 10-25-2008 03:03 PM by ran440.)
10-25-2008 01:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #5
RE: 1 L per min. Now with plate pics
Update us with your results.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
10-25-2008 01:57 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: 1 L per min. Now with plate pics
You bet. Thanks
10-25-2008 03:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: 1 L per min. Now with plate pics
Update:
Just got done increasing the plate spacing on one of the cells. This made no measurable difference in output. :-( I did notice I had to increase the electrolyte strength to get the amps up.
I must have a big design flaw somewhere.
Randy
10-26-2008 10:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zolar1 Offline
Got a Cheezeburger 4 me?
***

Posts: 185
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: 1 L per min. Now with plate pics
ran440 Wrote:Update:
Just got done increasing the plate spacing on one of the cells. This made no measurable difference in output. :-( I did notice I had to increase the electrolyte strength to get the amps up.
I must have a big design flaw somewhere.
Randy

Ran, you will need to make a few changes.
Either add 4 more of those exact cells and wire them all in series, or you will have to reconfigure the cells and add some neutrals in there sealing the flats and edges.

You must be pushing 100 amps with all those cells.

Set your plate spacing for 3/32" +/- 1/32"

All you did when hooking up your plates is make a LOT of heat.

If you are going to use 4 cells, then you need to redo your plates to make each cell's voltage drop to be 3V approximately.

Or make each plate assembly with 7 plates (-nnnnn+) and hook each cell up in parallel.

If you can fit 13 plates in there, hook them up like this:

-nnnnn+nnnnn- for each cell.

You have to seal the outside flat parts of the plates and all side edges, leaving the top and bottom open.

Then hook up the 4 cells in parallel.

You need to adjust the electrolyte for each cell with an ammeter so they are balanced (i.e. each cell drawing about 15 amps). You do this by filling with distilled water and slowly adding electrolyte.

The rust is being forced out due to over voltage and heat.

You should find that you could be getting 4L/min, maybe more!
(This post was last modified: 10-26-2008 02:26 PM by Zolar1.)
10-26-2008 02:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: 1 L per min. Now with plate pics
ZOLOR1
Thanks for your input, but something doesn't sound right.
I'm not pushing 100 amps. More like 18. Have panel meter wired in cab'
After an hour the electrolyte is luke warm.
Each cell is seeing just over 3 volts.
right now the cells are wired in series.
All cells are feed from a single reserivour.
Randy
10-26-2008 03:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zolar1 Offline
Got a Cheezeburger 4 me?
***

Posts: 185
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: 1 L per min. Now with plate pics
The only other explanation is that you have too weak of an electrolyte solution.

You might want to try my suggestion above.
10-26-2008 03:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)