Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
1999 Nissan Sentra
prince2873 Offline

Shy 1999 Nissan Sentra
I've been an aircraft mechanic for 10 years. I have a 120 mile commute each day. Right now in my sentra I get about 30-32 mpg. I've been looking closely at "Smacks Booster", because the plans are free. I'm on an extremely limited budget. I saw a build your own EFIE device, which was workable for me(I do a fair amount of avionics work).
I saw a post earlier tonight which suggested installing the gas output line before the MAF sensor. True?
Do I have to tweak every sensor on the car?
Does The MAF sensor take the place of a MAP sensor?
I have a MAP/Baro "switch", I assume they are not the same.

Any tips anyone has would be greatly appreciated. I have a long road ahead.
Regards,
Jim
(This post was last modified: 04-30-2008 09:33 PM by prince2873.)
04-30-2008 09:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mike Offline

RE: 1999 Nissan Sentra
I'm not answering all quesions - I don't know about the gas before or after the MAF. I've heard arguments for both ways, but I prefer downstream of the MAF

You don't have to tweak every sensor. The oxy sensor is the first most important. See http://www.fuelsaver-mpg.com/documents.html for articles on this subject that will explain why. Then you can look at Tuning For Mileage (from the documents page), for info on the other sensors. Not everyone needs to mess with the other sensors. Some guys will adjust a couple of other sensors to get better results with their EFIEs. It depends on the car and how tightly the computer is programmed. Well they are different sensors. You can see my abbreviations page (on documents page) for what they mean.

I don't know what a MAP/Baro switch is. MAP sounds like a standard MAP sensor, but you'd have to get documentation on that thing to know for sure.