Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
316 or 316L SS plate
Author Message
Rags Offline
Member
***

Posts: 127
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
316 or 316L SS plate
Does anyone have a source for stainless steel somewhat reasonable, I have checked every place where I live and no one has any. All I can find is 304. I found some 430 SS but did some research on it and from what I read this also would produce a lot of rust in the electrolyte. I am using the switch plates from Lowe's presently but they create a lot of brown junk. I tried aluminum, it produces hho but not very much. I was using soda, vinegar, and proxide for electrolyte. Is there a better solution to use with aluminum? Sure would be nice if aluminum could be used, it is a lot less expensive.

http://www.onlinemetals.com/merchant.cfm...&top_cat=0 I found this site on the net, took the plunge and bought enough to make a cell from 316L SS.
(This post was last modified: 05-10-2008 06:09 AM by Rags.)
05-10-2008 04:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #2
RE: 316 or 316L SS plate
Check places that buy scrap metal.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
05-10-2008 05:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rags Offline
Member
***

Posts: 127
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: 316 or 316L SS plate
colchiro Wrote:Check places that buy scrap metal.
I did and they only had 304 SS
05-10-2008 05:51 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rags Offline
Member
***

Posts: 127
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: 316 or 316L SS plate
To anyone interested You can check this site out. I bought enough to make a cell. pre cut to the size I wanted
http://www.onlinemetals.com/merchant.cfm...&top_cat=0
Rags
05-10-2008 06:13 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #5
RE: 316 or 316L SS plate
Can I ask how much that cost per plate with shipping (how many plates)?

Here's a deal if anyone can use 3-1/2 x 3-1/2 thick plates. I would have bought them but I'd prefer 3-1/2 x 6 inches and they're a bit thick to put 11 plates in the water filter container I prefer. Hmm

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
05-10-2008 07:00 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rags Offline
Member
***

Posts: 127
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: 316 or 316L SS plate
colchiro Wrote:Can I ask how much that cost per plate with shipping (how many plates)?

Here's a deal if anyone can use 3-1/2 x 3-1/2 thick plates. I would have bought them but I'd prefer 3-1/2 x 6 inches and they're a bit thick to put 11 plates in the water filter container I prefer. Hmm


The size is 2"x4"x.125" thick. I bought 7 panels @ $4.04 each and $11.08 shipping. I chose to pay and extra fee to have them cut to the size I wanted.
05-10-2008 05:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #7
RE: 316 or 316L SS plate
So the fleeBay ones weren't any great bargain then. Hmm

I see solidbottom bought them.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
(This post was last modified: 05-10-2008 05:30 PM by colchiro.)
05-10-2008 05:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Rags Offline
Member
***

Posts: 127
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: 316 or 316L SS plate
colchiro Wrote:So the fleeBay ones weren't any great bargain then. Hmm
you mean the 3 1/2" by 3 1/2" thick. you mentioned? I can't use 3 1/2" size as my generator tube is only 3". I can't get a 4" tube under my hood.
(This post was last modified: 05-10-2008 05:34 PM by Rags.)
05-10-2008 05:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #9
RE: 316 or 316L SS plate
Rags Wrote:you mean the 3 1/2" by 3 1/2" thick. you mentioned?

Yes.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
05-10-2008 05:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #10
RE: 316 or 316L SS plate
Here's another source: http://www.sandmeyersteel.com/316-316L.html

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
05-16-2008 06:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)