Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
4 wire, wide band O2 sensor
Author Message
mjs1982 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 5
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
4 wire, wide band O2 sensor
I just discovered I have a 4 wire, wide band O2 sensor on my 2007 Toyota Yaris. I understand that I cannot use an EFIE on this type of sensor. Is there anything I can do? Could I just use a resistor?
08-12-2008 05:59 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #2
RE: 4 wire, wide band O2 sensor
You could try. It didn't work on my 05 Toyota or a late model Honda.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
08-12-2008 05:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JohnNeiferd Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: 4 wire, wide band O2 sensor
Hmm...being a 2007 I figure it'd have a wideband sensor. However, most wideband sensors I've known are 5-wire.
09-08-2008 03:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #4
RE: 4 wire, wide band O2 sensor
I'm not aware of any Toyota's with 5 wire, yet they've had wide band (air-fuel sensors) since about 2000.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
09-08-2008 05:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
John J. Reilly Offline
Member
***

Posts: 2
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: 4 wire, wide band O2 sensor
mjs1982 Wrote:I just discovered I have a 4 wire, wide band O2 sensor on my 2007 Toyota Yaris. I understand that I cannot use an EFIE on this type of sensor. Is there anything I can do? Could I just use a resistor?
09-10-2008 06:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #6
RE: 4 wire, wide band O2 sensor
You could wait a couple months for Mike's wide band efie or use a resistor type MAF mod to lean our your a/f ratio. Might need to tweak a few other sensors too. See my Tuning for Mileage link.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
09-10-2008 06:54 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
GadgetMan Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1
Joined: Nov 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: 4 wire, wide band O2 sensor
I'm running an HHO system on my 2000 Discovery. What I did this morning to correct the condition of errant O2Sensors-and this is with the wrong efies courtesy of PWM Power-installed- is to reduce my airflow prior to my MAP sensor. What I foudn was an IMMEDIATE jump in my MPG. While I don't have an MPG sensor, I can tell you this: The FIRST 5/8 tank took me a total of 160 miles. the next 1/8 took me over a hundred.
I'll have all the details posted at ClubHHO.com if anyone's interested.
Keep experimenting! The success is worth it!
Over 47% of my miles are now provided by water, and that's pushing a 6,400 pound Land Rover!
~GadgetMan~
11-01-2008 04:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)