Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
7.3 powerstroke
Author Message
timruger1 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
7.3 powerstroke
Has anyone had any results in a 7.3 PSD?

I have had a system for over a year and NOTHING
07-24-2012 04:38 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mike Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 2,020
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 7
Post: #2
RE: 7.3 powerstroke
What year? What electronics? What HHO system? How many amps?

[Image: signature.gif]
Visit Our Documents Page
07-24-2012 10:59 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
timruger1 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: 7.3 powerstroke
(07-24-2012 10:59 AM)mike Wrote:  What year? What electronics? What HHO system? How many amps?

Its a 1997 the HHO system is from an outfit in AZ a double cell

I have tried amps from under 10 up to 35 with no change
The system is from a place called the mileage shop they are NO HELP
(This post was last modified: 09-11-2012 08:09 AM by timruger1.)
09-11-2012 08:08 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mike Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 2,020
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 7
Post: #4
RE: 7.3 powerstroke
I answered your PM. If those suggestions work out for you, please post what you did here in the forum.

[Image: signature.gif]
Visit Our Documents Page
09-11-2012 08:56 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
timruger1 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: 7.3 powerstroke
Hey mike

I know where the IAT is and I am sure I can find the CTS. I still need to locate the pots but once i do which side of the sensor do i run it through?

How do i tell what changes i am making.

Finally when i set the MAPE i did so with a hz meter. Oddly though when i had the negative to ground it red zero. When i used only the positive lead and left the negative unattached i was able to get a reading. I believe it to be a valid reading as the numbers were what was expected and i occasionally trip the engine light
09-13-2012 07:03 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mike Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 2,020
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 7
Post: #6
RE: 7.3 powerstroke
You can watch your temp meter (for water temp).

The only other way to tell is using an obd2 scanner. They have some good cheap ones on the market. Any obd2 compliant device will work. Some are stand alone and some work with a computer. We sell them for $50 (I think), and I've heard of them being sold for as little as $20-$25.

[Image: signature.gif]
Visit Our Documents Page
(This post was last modified: 09-13-2012 09:03 AM by mike.)
09-13-2012 09:03 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
timruger1 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: 7.3 powerstroke
(09-13-2012 09:03 AM)mike Wrote:  You can watch your temp meter (for water temp).

The only other way to tell is using an obd2 scanner. They have some good cheap ones on the market. Any obd2 compliant device will work. Some are stand alone and some work with a computer. We sell them for $50 (I think), and I've heard of them being sold for as little as $20-$25.

OK thanks I have an OBD2/CAN scanner but i am not literally raising any temp i am just fooling the sensor to believe so correct?

How do i determine which of the two wires to use?

Any thoughts on the hz issue?
(This post was last modified: 09-13-2012 09:23 AM by timruger1.)
09-13-2012 09:22 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mike Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 2,020
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 7
Post: #8
RE: 7.3 powerstroke
Yes. When you bypass the sensor with a resistor you are lowering the apparent resistance of the sensor. The computer will read this as a warmer reading on the sensor. The scanner will show you how much the temperature is being "raised". You should be going for a resistance that "raises" the temperature by 10 degrees Fahrenheit, or so.

[Image: signature.gif]
Visit Our Documents Page
09-13-2012 12:03 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
timruger1 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: 7.3 powerstroke
the IAT has two wires does it matter which i use
09-14-2012 07:29 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
timruger1 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 28
Joined: Jul 2012
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: 7.3 powerstroke
hey mike

The IAT has two wires the CTS one

That means the pots cannot go in parallel but will have to go in series,

Will this work the same way?

Which of the two IAT wires do i access
09-17-2012 07:02 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)