Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Ammeter Hook-up
Author Message
owen1969 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 75
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Ammeter Hook-up
Now this is going to sound real stupid but I can build anything weld anything But I have no clue about electronics But I want to learn. I bought an ammeter and it never came with any instructions whatever, Now of course there are only 2 posts on it and I think it just splices right into live wire going to cell, Is this right? , Thanks John
(This post was last modified: 07-01-2008 06:09 PM by owen1969.)
06-30-2008 07:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
owen1969 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 75
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Ammeter Hook-up
Got it hooked up , I see I was right the first time, No one replied so I went ahead, John
07-01-2008 06:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #3
RE: Ammeter Hook-up
Sorry, got held up. Glad you got it going.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
07-01-2008 07:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RDKamikaze Offline
Because Saving Gas Matters
***

Posts: 752
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #4
RE: Ammeter Hook-up
I just got an ammeter from Harbor Freight and it only has 2 posts as well. I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but here's what's happening. Whenever I connect the ammeter to the posts, I don't get a reading OR I get a spark and kill the power. What am I doing wrong...?

My Car:
2006 Toyota Solara 2.4L 4cyl.
-Aftermarket (JPP) header
-DNX exhaust
-Injen Short-Ram Intake (SRI)

Add yourself to the HHO member map!!
07-15-2008 07:05 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
visek Offline
Member
***

Posts: 149
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Ammeter Hook-up
RDKamikaze Wrote:I just got an ammeter from Harbor Freight and it only has 2 posts as well. I don't know what I'm doing wrong, but here's what's happening. Whenever I connect the ammeter to the posts, I don't get a reading OR I get a spark and kill the power. What am I doing wrong...?

You need to put it in the main feed to your generator...polarity needs to be "right"...I use a positive reading. Be sure you aren't connecting to the bolts that hold it down. Might be defective.
07-16-2008 02:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
RDKamikaze Offline
Because Saving Gas Matters
***

Posts: 752
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #6
RE: Ammeter Hook-up
Haha, I feel like an idiot. After looking up how to hookup an ammeter on the internet, I quickly learned that it's NOT like a voltmeter in any way. You don't touch one end to ground, another to the positive you're reading. You connect it in series to ONE end of the connection (I used positive but it read in neagtive?). Now it's up and running, just my only question is WHERE DO I FIND A MORE PRECISE AMMETER?!?! Harbor freight only had one and it's a 50A ammeter, -50A to +50A. The only problem is it doesn't have ANY dashes, which is super annoying. Guestimating is pretty tough with a huge needle :P

My Car:
2006 Toyota Solara 2.4L 4cyl.
-Aftermarket (JPP) header
-DNX exhaust
-Injen Short-Ram Intake (SRI)

Add yourself to the HHO member map!!
07-16-2008 02:46 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hansintheusa Offline
Member
***

Posts: 22
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Ammeter Hook-up
How about this one:
http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-sto...R/-/1.html
or
http://www.allelectronics.com/make-a-sto...R/-/1.html
Is that the type of meter you're looking for?

1993 Toyota P/U 22RE (HHO Experiment Rig)
1996 VW Golf (Future Experiment Rig)
1999 Audi A8 (Wife's Car)
1998 Volvo V70 AWD-Project Car...
(This post was last modified: 07-16-2008 09:27 AM by hansintheusa.)
07-16-2008 09:25 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
cantburn Offline
All Fired Up
***

Posts: 66
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Ammeter Hook-up
http://search.altenergystore.com/energy/...mp%20meter


Better setup i've seen and own.

"Life is but a tire swing"
(This post was last modified: 07-16-2008 06:01 PM by cantburn.)
07-16-2008 05:56 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #9
RE: Ammeter Hook-up
This company has a nice assortment of digital 30 and 50 amp meters.

http://stores.ebay.com/Asia-Engineer

Make sure you specify 12 volt. Nice thing about meters with shunts is the heavy wiring stays under the hood (with the shunt) and you run small wires into the vehicle. Someone else posted that link today. I've never bought from them (but almost did).

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
07-16-2008 06:22 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
bowrabob Offline
Member
***

Posts: 8
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Ammeter Hook-up
I ordered an ammeter for my new cell but I think I might have got the wrong unit, it is DC, is this ok or should it be AC. My vehicle has an alternator. I'm not really up on electronics.
(This post was last modified: 07-19-2008 11:21 PM by bowrabob.)
07-19-2008 10:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)