Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Basic HHO generator question
fastcompacts Offline

Basic HHO generator question
I am new to this HHO production idea and think that the whole idea is awesome. I have made a very basic gen using stainless wire wrapped around some plexiglass. ( after reading many of the threads i have found that this is probably not the most efficent) I will try to upgrade to plates after. My main question is that i have seen many people making these generators out of Ball mason jars (some even have metal lids), I have made one with a metal lid and i ran into a shorting problem (should have seen it coming). How would you set up the positive and negative terminal on the metal lid without it shorting out, are there like plastic sleeve to put around the bolt or what? I also suppose that i could try to swap out the metal lid for a plastic one but i like the metal lid better (seems to have a much tighter seal). I may have to break down and switch to plastic if i cant find a way to stop it from shorting across the lid. Any info would be greatly appriciated. Thanks in advance Big Grin
(This post was last modified: 03-20-2009 08:19 PM by fastcompacts.)
03-20-2009 08:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline

RE: Basic HHO generator question
It's the sparking and shorting so common with SS wire (and the glass container) that makes these generators so dangerous. Too much current, the wire turns red hot, melts the plexiglass and shorts out.... boom.... caustic solution and sharp glass all over everything. Hopefully you aren't in the area when that happens. Just getting electrolyte on my fan belts and having to listen to them squeak for months give me a shudder. The $200 to replace all of them would easily buy you a good cell.

Best to leave the glass jars and SS wire for the science fair project and check out dry cells (search will find a bunch).

Rick