Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Best plate config for a series cell?
Author Message
stevekos7 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 243
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Best plate config for a series cell?
Hi all. I am getting a bit confused about what would be the best series cell setup. I have 12 plates available and would like to utilise these to their full before going out and buying more SS plates. They are pretty expensive nowadays and I have to pay to get them cut also.

Anyway, the next cell I was just starting on was a 3 cell design with +nn- config in 3 sealed cells. I thought that thise would be 3 x 4 volts. However colchiro says that these cells would be 6 volts each, and that I would be better with a +n- setup if I wanted 3 cells.

Ideas?
07-16-2008 04:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #2
RE: Best plate config for a series cell?
How about ...

+12v ---- (+ - +) ---- (- + -) ---- (+ - +) ---- gnd

Code:
.      _________       _____ GND
.     |     |   |     |
.  (+ - +) (- + -) (+ - +)
. __|___|     |_____|___|
+12

You'd have 3 plates left over that could be used for a 4th cell, wired the same way.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
07-16-2008 05:05 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
stevekos7 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 243
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Best plate config for a series cell?
colchiro Wrote:How about ...

+12v ---- (+ - +) ---- (- + -) ---- (+ - +) ---- gnd

Code:
.      _________       _____ GND
.     |     |   |     |
.  (+ - +) (- + -) (+ - +)
. __|___|     |_____|___|
+12

You'd have 3 plates left over that could be used for a 4th cell, wired the same way.

Thanks colchiro, but what I wanted to know is how do you work out what the voltage will be across the cells? Across just a +- cell the ideal is 2v so to get the maximum output at lowest amps the best config would be either 6 or 7 cells. What I want to know is why does adding one N plate double the voltage across the cell?
07-16-2008 07:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #4
RE: Best plate config for a series cell?
Check here: http://www.fuel-saver.org/showthread.php?tid=974&page=3

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
07-16-2008 07:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
CitatioN10 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 131
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Best plate config for a series cell?
colchiro Wrote:How about ...

+12v ---- (+ - +) ---- (- + -) ---- (+ - +) ---- gnd

Code:
.      _________       _____ GND
.     |     |   |     |
.  (+ - +) (- + -) (+ - +)
. __|___|     |_____|___|
+12

You'd have 3 plates left over that could be used for a 4th cell, wired the same way.

Thanks Rick , this is what I was asking you for a week or so ago .
Actually Im confudes , sorry if I intrude on this thread ,

Rick when you say +-+ -+- +-+

Is this with 3 GENERATORS ?

Generator 1 being +-+
Generator 2 being -+-
Generator 3 being +-+

?
07-16-2008 08:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
stevekos7 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 243
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Best plate config for a series cell?
CitatioN10 Wrote:
colchiro Wrote:How about ...

+12v ---- (+ - +) ---- (- + -) ---- (+ - +) ---- gnd

Code:
.      _________       _____ GND
.     |     |   |     |
.  (+ - +) (- + -) (+ - +)
. __|___|     |_____|___|
+12

You'd have 3 plates left over that could be used for a 4th cell, wired the same way.

Thanks Rick , this is what I was asking you for a week or so ago .
Actually Im confudes , sorry if I intrude on this thread ,

Rick when you say +-+ -+- +-+

Is this with 3 GENERATORS ?

Generator 1 being +-+
Generator 2 being -+-
Generator 3 being +-+

?

Yes that is what he means.
07-16-2008 08:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
cheapfuel Offline
Member
***

Posts: 174
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Best plate config for a series cell?
Has anyone tried this: Take an old 12 volt storage battery or facsimile. Drain out its contents. Check that there is no short between the terminals. Fit on a vent for your HHO gas. Fill with a solution of NaOH and distilled water. Apply 12 volts across the terminals. Make sure you have a inline fuse (30 or 40 amps) and an ammeter. Test for HHO production. I would be interested to hear your results. If this works then build a small storage resevoir for your electrolyte since the battery itself has very little storage space. Make sure that pressure cannot build up in the battery. Maybe some minor conversions to the battery casing might be in order. Try at your own risk!
07-16-2008 08:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
stevekos7 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 243
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Best plate config for a series cell?
cheapfuel Wrote:Has anyone tried this: Take an old 12 volt storage battery or facsimile. Drain out its contents. Check that there is no short between the terminals. Fit on a vent for your HHO gas. Fill with a solution of NaOH and distilled water. Apply 12 volts across the terminals. Make sure you have a inline fuse (30 or 40 amps) and an ammeter. Test for HHO production. I would be interested to hear your results. If this works then build a small storage resevoir for your electrolyte since the battery itself has very little storage space. Make sure that pressure cannot build up in the battery. Maybe some minor conversions to the battery casing might be in order. Try at your own risk!

Have you tried this Cheapfuel? I don't think I want to go to the trouble.
07-16-2008 08:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
cheapfuel Offline
Member
***

Posts: 174
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Best plate config for a series cell?
No I haven't. Just that someone might have. Like you I don't want to go to the trouble either. It is possible that someone already has tried it. It would take some modifcation. However since the plates are already built in, it would be interesting to find out if this works.
07-16-2008 08:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
stevekos7 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 243
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Best plate config for a series cell?
cheapfuel Wrote:No I haven't. Just that someone might have. Like you I don't want to go to the trouble either. It is possible that someone already has tried it. It would take some modifcation. However since the plates are already built in, it would be interesting to find out if this works.

It would depend on how old the battery was, how badly sulphated the plates were and what the plates are made of. Lead plates might not be very healthy, and they will have absorbed some of the acid if it was a lead/acid battery.

I would be inclined to take the plates out and just use the casing if I wanted to make a big generator.
07-16-2008 08:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)