Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
EFIE installed but no gain
Author Message
jetmec Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Sad EFIE installed but no gain
Everyone,
I installed my dual EFIE system this weekend and have run about a dozen trips between 15 min and 1 hr 30 min long. Here are the results.
#1 Oxygen Sensor (Voltage Offset) .260
#2 Oxygen Sensor (Voltage Offset) .258
Oxygen Sensor reading
(Black probe in black port
Red probe to ground)
#1 .230-.244 #2 .227-240
Computer reading
(Red probe to red port
Black probe to ground)
#1 .035-.044 #2 .035-.044
Questions:
1. Should the computer reading be the sum of the oxygen sensor plus the voltage offset which in this case would be .490-.504 not .035-.044????
2. If I put the red lead of my DMM to the EFIE Black port and the black lead to ground as called out in the “ How to read your EFIE section” I get a negative number??? I have to reverse the leads to get a good reading, why???
3. After a dozen or so trips the voltage offset still raises to .337-.350 when I first start the trip and then take around 25 minutes or more to settle at about .250+- .005 volts. Should this have been enough time for the unit to acclimate to the car as referenced in the installation instructions?
Comments:
1. No CEL or MIL Codes posted
2. No fuel saving yet.
3. No increase or decrease in engine performance.
4. No consistant voltage off-sets
It can be set perfect for one trip and the next be off by .40 volts the next

Other related stuff:
4 oxygen sensors installed 2 upstream of the cat and 2 downstream EFIE is wired to the upstreams sensors
V-6 fuel injected engine
4 wires on the O2 sensors
Wiring Daigram is from ALLDATA.com
2 W4G cells wired in series and drawing 8-10 amps

Please Help! this is drive me nutsConfused
Any thoughts would be great!

Kevin M. Carlson
Jet Mechanic at Large
07-09-2008 04:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hydrodine Offline
Member
***

Posts: 206
Joined: Mar 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: EFIE installed but no gain
join the crowd, a bunch of us have seen no gains either.
07-09-2008 05:10 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
jetmec Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: EFIE installed but no gain
Thanks for stating the obvious! but can anyone answer my questions, why is the computer side voltage so low?

Kevin M. Carlson
Jet Mechanic at Large
07-10-2008 02:58 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
rpatzer Offline
Member
***

Posts: 348
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: EFIE installed but no gain
jetmec- I don't see that you are using any fuel mod. The EFIE is not designed to be used by itself. You need either a gas vaporizer or HHO unit.
07-10-2008 10:12 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
jetmec Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: EFIE installed but no gain
As I said in my first post:
2 W4G cells wired in series and drawing 8-10 amps
(Water4Gas)

Kevin M. Carlson
Jet Mechanic at Large
07-10-2008 10:21 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AlexR Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 187
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: EFIE installed but no gain
jetmec Wrote:why is the computer side voltage so low?

Something is wrong with your setup, but I guess you know that. I'd go over all of your connections again with a voltmeter and verify every connection. It could be you have the EFIE leads to the O2 sensor connected backward, this would cause a low voltage reading because you are subtracting the voltage instead of adding it. I've found incorrect wiring myself that I looked over several times before, believing it was correct, but wasn't. Look it over when you are fresh like a Sat morning.

Also verify with the liter bottle in a bucket of water that your W4gas gizmo is really making gas.

Alex

Cool Flame, LLC
http://www.cool-flame.com
07-10-2008 10:36 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
jetmec Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: EFIE installed but no gain
Finally, a good thought out answer. I have done the testing and have found the cells producing about .5 liters every 90 secs (not great but ok I guess). As far as the connections. Yes I guess I will check the connections because it does sound like the EFIE is subtracting the voltage. I just find it hard to believe that both O2 sensors are wired backwards. But stranger things have happen. Thanks for the suggestion

Kevin M. Carlson
Jet Mechanic at Large
07-10-2008 10:56 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AlexR Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 187
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: EFIE installed but no gain
Jetmac,

its either wired backwards or a loose connection somewhere.
You unit seems to be making plenty of gas to make a difference, don't worry about the exact amount of gas right now, just be sure its actually making gas.

Figure out your EFIE problem first, then go from there.

good luck!

Alex

Cool Flame, LLC
http://www.cool-flame.com
07-10-2008 11:25 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
jetmec Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: EFIE installed but no gain
Just finish checking the wires, found white wire going to the computer and blue wire going to the computer just as the installations instructions say. All connnections are tight. I guess I will keep looking

Kevin M. Carlson
Jet Mechanic at Large
07-10-2008 11:33 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
AlexR Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 187
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: EFIE installed but no gain
I'm not too familiar with Mike's EFIE, I've just used the Eagle EFIEs, but both wires can't go to the ECU. One goes to the O2 sensor and the other goes to the ECU. Touching both wires together will shut off the effects of the EFIE and allow the ECU to only read the O2 sensor.

Alex

Cool Flame, LLC
http://www.cool-flame.com
07-10-2008 11:57 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)