Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Electrolyte concentration?? Problems in a series cell
jrior001 Offline

Question Electrolyte concentration?? Problems in a series cell
OK so here the same question i've read many times....How much NaOH should i expect to use??

Most answers i saw were between 1/2 to 1 teaspoon per liter to draw 10-15 amps roughly.....

I'm new at this but what i'm testing ain't makin sense to me right now....I've built a zerofossilfuels clone with 13 2"x6" 16g plates connected (-nnnnn+nnnnn-) with about a plates thickness separation (16g is about .048" or so) and sealed the edges in acrylic as he describes..... felt pretty confident in my work until i tested it.....

I'm using a clean 3 liter soda bottle with the top cut off full of water as my test resivior. hooked up power to it and began adding NaOH. had the cell running on the bench for close to an hour as i mixed in more and more and more NaOH.... I was well over 10 teaspoons (closer to twelve maybe, i lost count) and barely hit 7 amps. even after running for some time it stayed right at 7 amps.... i'm sure if i added more the current would continue to rise but i had already added double what i ever thought i should have needed?? Any suggestions??? Does a series cell like this typically require a higher concentration?? or is my cell just flawed?? I have plenty more NaOH i was just scared to add more.....

p.s. - the photos are from during construction, not the finished cell.

Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)

(This post was last modified: 07-10-2008 05:46 PM by jrior001.)
07-09-2008 08:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
cheapfuel Offline

RE: Electrolyte concentration??
jrior001 Wrote:OK so here the same question i've read many times....How much NaOH should i expect to use??

Most answers i saw were between 1/2 to 1 teaspoon per liter to draw 10-15 amps roughly.....