Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
G509 Question
Author Message
krush1 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
G509 Question
Mike,

I am trying to build an EFIE using a G509 transformer without much luck. I've been able to get a range of 100mV - 5V on the primary side with the transformer removed from the circuit, so my timer seems to be working. But when I put the transformer and the rest of the circuit in place the voltage drops to 10mV or so on the primary, and I cant seem to change it regardless of what values I use for C1, R4, and R5. Any idea where I am going wrong?

thanks,

Kevin
06-18-2008 10:49 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mike Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 2,020
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 7
Post: #2
RE: G509 Question
Well, I forget the specs on the g509, but the g508 works quite well. I suspect that the G509 is just not giving you enough transformer to do the job. compare specs with the G508 and better yet, get a g508 and use that.

[Image: signature.gif]
Visit Our Documents Page
06-18-2008 10:59 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
krush1 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 2
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: G509 Question
Yeah, I was hoping to get a G508, but they are unavailable for another month or so. The difference in specs is this

Model - Inductance - Primary - Turns
G508 - 2mH - 16V/uS - 1CT:1CT
G509 - 0.5mH - 9.5V/uS - 1CT:1CT

I read an old post where someone had used it successfully using some specs from you, but the specs that were used weren't mentioned. So the transformer is just inadequate? I was hoping to at least get something out of the transformer.
06-19-2008 07:28 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)