Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
HHO Generator
mrmechanical Offline

HHO Generator
To start, I would like to say Hi to all, I am new here, and to HHO, but am certainly getting a crash course in HHO generating. So let me tell my story, and hopefully those of you better at it than I will be able to point me in a good direction to continue. I started with a clear generator kit from Hydrogen Garage, purchased a jar of KOH from Soapworks, and started the fun. I assembled the generator as per instructions, installed it in what I thought to be the coolest place in the engine compartment of my 1987 Nissan Sentra, hooked everything up, turned it on and drove away. I wish it was just that simple. I am a truck mechanic by trade, and love a challenge, but this is different. No matter how much I adjusted the KOH strength, it appeared that I would always end up with thermal run off, 150+ degrees and 25+ amps. I guess at this time I should say I live in south Florida (think HOT HOT all the time). I hooked a thermometer to the outside of the generator and found that even when not in use it would get to over 130 degrees (I think that's too hot). I tried various ways to keep it cool. I used a washer pump to pump the solution through an old copper transmission cooler, the temp stayed down, but didn't produce any gas. So I took the pump off and let thermal dynamics take its course, that didn't work either, the solution started to turn green, and I kept filling the cooler with HHO so it wouldn't cool it. Finally I relocated my battery to my trunk, and relocated the generator to a cooler spot in the engine bay. I enclosed the generator and mounted a 10" radiator fan above it to give good air circulation, I also glued aluminium strips to the outside of the generator to help with heat dissipation. Finally I also lowered my KOH concentration to 10 amps at start up, within 45 min will hit 20 amps, finally blowing a 25 amp fuse. Well I can't seem to get it to run below about 120-125 deg