Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
IAT sensor
Author Message
hooterhog Offline
Member
***

Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Cool IAT sensor
I need some information. I have a 1999 toyota tacoma 2.4 liter engine and
want to add a resistor to the IAT. I checked the voltage it is five volts. I
read in the documents and it said add 3.9k resistor. Do I have to get one
for five volts or will a 3.9k ohm 1/2 watt work. I am not very good with
electronics. I would like to do the same with cts sensor also to lower lean
out limits . Thank you , Hooterhog
03-16-2009 08:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #2
RE: IAT sensor
Try a 10k for CTS or IAT on your Toyota, worked perfect for my '05 Rav4.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
03-17-2009 02:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
thomasbala Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 629
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #3
RE: IAT sensor
(03-16-2009 08:59 PM)hooterhog Wrote:  I need some information. I have a 1999 toyota tacoma 2.4 liter engine and
want to add a resistor to the IAT. I checked the voltage it is five volts. I
read in the documents and it said add 3.9k resistor. Do I have to get one
for five volts or will a 3.9k ohm 1/2 watt work. I am not very good with
electronics. I would like to do the same with cts sensor also to lower lean
out limits . Thank you , Hooterhog
One-half Watt is just fine. Ohm's law: resistance (Ohms) = Volts/amps. It'll cost a few bucks more, but you might want to consider a variable resistor, sometimes erroneously called a potentiometer [everyone does it]. They're about $4.00 at Radioshack. I'd get a 50K Ohm pot; that way you've got lots and lots and lots of possible settings without having to replace resistors. Good luck; let us know your results.
03-17-2009 02:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #4
RE: IAT sensor
If you're going the "pot" route, make sure it's linear taper. Wink

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
03-17-2009 03:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hooterhog Offline
Member
***

Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
Cool RE: IAT sensor
(03-17-2009 02:26 PM)thomasbala Wrote:  
(03-16-2009 08:59 PM)hooterhog Wrote:  I need some information. I have a 1999 toyota tacoma 2.4 liter engine and
want to add a resistor to the IAT. I checked the voltage it is five volts. I
read in the documents and it said add 3.9k resistor. Do I have to get one
for five volts or will a 3.9k ohm 1/2 watt work. I am not very good with
electronics. I would like to do the same with cts sensor also to lower lean
out limits . Thank you , Hooterhog
One-half Watt is just fine. Ohm's law: resistance (Ohms) = Volts/amps. It'll cost a few bucks more, but you might want to consider a variable resistor, sometimes erroneously called a potentiometer [everyone does it]. They're about $4.00 at Radioshack. I'd get a 50K Ohm pot; that way you've got lots and lots and lots of possible settings without having to replace resistors. Good luck; let us know your results.

[font=Verdana][/font]
I have not made it to radio shack but i did soider 2 4.7k ohms resistors together made 9.4 k ohms. I set my wide band efie to
.5mv tested and got increase from 24mph to 29 mph .I was really excited. The next day my wide band efie started smoking and
died .I am not good with electronics but I think a copactor or somthing burnt up. I dont believe it can be rebuilt. It was about
six weeks old . I will have to get a new one from fuel saver because it did work great. I just wished they could build one that
could be rebuilt in case you run in to problems. Thanks for the great advice
(This post was last modified: 03-28-2009 02:36 PM by hooterhog.)
03-28-2009 02:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #6
RE: IAT sensor
Ouch.

That's the first I've heard of a wb efie failure. Have you contacted Bruce or Mike yet?

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
03-29-2009 07:47 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mike Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 2,020
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 7
Post: #7
RE: IAT sensor
Ouch is right.

We've had a few of our first ones do this. We've already made a fix to prevent it happening in the future.

However, you have to write to support@fuelsaver-mpg.com. I can't tell who you are from your login name here at the forum. Please identify yourself so we can send you a replacement. We'll get it out immediately.

Also, if you were using a PWM, can you please tell us what brand you were using?

Thanks, Mike

[Image: signature.gif]
Visit Our Documents Page
03-29-2009 08:36 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hooterhog Offline
Member
***

Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
Cool RE: IAT sensor
(03-29-2009 08:36 AM)mike Wrote:  Ouch is right.

We've had a few of our first ones do this. We've already made a fix to prevent it happening in the future.

However, you have to write to support@fuelsaver-mpg.com. I can't tell who you are from your login name here at the forum. Please identify yourself so we can send you a replacement. We'll get it out immediately.

Also, if you were using a PWM, can you please tell us what brand you were using?

Thanks, Mike

Thanks for the reply . I am using a constant curent pwm that I bought on ebay from haiwie. I dont know the brand name. It
sences when the engine is running . It is 30 amp. I have e mailed my name and address to you. I had my efie wired up from a
5 amp fuse and switch coming off cig lighter. That wire also supplies low amp wire to reley . Thank you for your support
(This post was last modified: 03-29-2009 08:04 PM by hooterhog.)
03-29-2009 07:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hooterhog Offline
Member
***

Posts: 6
Joined: Dec 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
Cool RE: IAT sensor
I just would like to take the time to thank yaul at fuelsaver for sending me a new wide band efie . this sight is the greatest..hooterhog
04-16-2009 08:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
NanoCar Offline
Driving makes me Crazy
***

Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2010
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: IAT sensor
I see that this thread has more relevant post and info about IAT sensor.. Just for everybody else to know.. here's where the sensor is located..

[Image: iat_locator.jpg]
Here the location of IAT sensor
01-05-2011 11:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)