Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Kia Rio results
Author Message
cmac0351 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 149
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Kia Rio results
I have been using a generator I purchased (wish I had done a bit more research first 'cause I would have built a better one) in my '02 Kia Rio for about a week. I also just put in a Scanguage.

On about a 7 mile trip I drive every day, there is traffic in the day, but not so much in the evening. In the morning, I had been getting about 29.5 for the trip, but in the afternoon, I would get between 32-34.

Tonight, I turned off my generator out of curiosity and got a little over 40 MPG with nothing turned on. Can anyone figure that out?
07-23-2008 05:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #2
RE: Kia Rio results
How much current are you running?

How much output does your cell have (LPM)?

Have you done a leak test (using soapy water and looking for bubbles)?

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
07-23-2008 05:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
cmac0351 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 149
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Kia Rio results
10 amps, a little under .4 lpm, and no, haven't checked for leaks, that is a good idea, though.

The Rio has a 1.5 liter engine, by the way.

I am now in the process of building a smack gen II, so I will be replacing my current gen soon.

colchiro Wrote:How much current are you running?

How much output does your cell have (LPM)?

Have you done a leak test (using soapy water and looking for bubbles)?
07-23-2008 06:14 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #4
RE: Kia Rio results
Small engines don't need much hho.

Read up on all posts with "series cell" in the title.

I'd drop a few neutrals out (so you have a 6 volt Smacks) and connect two in series. Then it'd be twice as efficient.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
07-23-2008 08:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Pat Offline
Member
***

Posts: 50
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Kia Rio results
Did you install an EFIE or fiddle with any other sensor on your Rio? I have a Rio also and will be installing a generator in it.
07-24-2008 07:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
cmac0351 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 149
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Kia Rio results
Pat Wrote:Did you install an EFIE or fiddle with any other sensor on your Rio? I have a Rio also and will be installing a generator in it.

No EFIE yet, but I plan on getting one of those as well. The o2 sensor is very easy to get to.
07-25-2008 07:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
steelerfan89 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 79
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Kia Rio results
It sounds like your o2 sensor detected a change in the exhaust and the computer added more gas to compensate. To test this theory

1.) Check the voltage readings coming from the 02 sensor to the ECU under normal conditions

2.) turn on the HHO generator and check the voltage again. You should see different readings. Im about to try a kia optima myself so Im very interested in your progress
07-26-2008 09:36 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)