Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Mpg gains up 25-30 % with or without hho ?!?
Jonnkopp Offline

Mpg gains up 25-30 % with or without hho ?!?
Hi everyone,

I have been fooling around with hho now for about 9 months. My current setup is in a 2001 silerado with a 4.8 l engine. I have "evolved" int a 13 plate dry cell that produces about 3 lpm at about 30 amps. No efie or other electronic mods to the engine. My fuel consumption pre-hho was 13 mpg average, consistently over two years. I had varying results with an all time best of 21 mpg, with hho. The past two months my mpg has stabilized at around 17 1/2 mpg consistantly. Three full tanks ago I decided to turn off the hho just to get an idea of what my mpg would be after running hho for about 6 months consistently. Interestingly enough, my mpg over the past three full tanks has been consistent with what I have been getting with hho, around 17 1/2 mpg.

My question is... Has anyone else experienced this and any theories why?

I am wondering if it could be due to the long term fuel trim that the computer references to determine the amount of gas injected?

Also.. The CE light is on.. And has been for some time now.

I am planning on going with an efie at some point, but have been very satisfied with the mpg results I have seen so far without one, not to mention how well the engine runs.

Any thoughts would be greatly appreciated.

Jonn
06-13-2013 01:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mike Offline

RE: Mpg gains up 25-30 % with or without hho ?!?
I think you're right about the fuel trims. The computer has adjusted to HHO. Theoretically, you should lose those gains if you keep driving without HHO.