Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
My NEW Cell is FIXED!! UPDATE
Author Message
dirty273 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
My NEW Cell is FIXED!! UPDATE
I have built a 5 cell closed bath gen. It has 3.5" X 5" SS plates with a (+ -) arrangement. No neutrals.

I am using a battery charger for testing.

Electrolyte strength: 1 teaspoon NaOH per liter of distilled water.
Plate Spacing: 1/8"
All components are SS.

On the 12 amp setting of the charger I am achieving about 0.5L/min.

Not impressive.

Should I add more NaOH of add neutrals or WHAT?
Man I had high hopes for this thing.

Take a look at the photo.


August 1, 2008 ~~~ Update

Well I have been running my cell for about 3 weeks now. I have yet to use any water. (No refill yet!) I have never been able to get the temp to rise more than 110 deg F. This thing works marvelous once I realized how much more NaOH you need to operate a series cell.

So far I get a gain of 10% on my 2003 Ford Ranger. Should be getting more but right now all I am concerned with is creating a efficient, low maintenance gen.

Everyone is trying to go smaller in order to mount under there hood when it I feel it is way better to build larger and mount in trunk or bed of your car/pickup. Larger cell has more water so less overheat issues and with less heat come less water vapor hence no refill issues. (At least not yet)

My cell can easily produce 2+ lpm if I increased the amperage. Just no need on my little 4cyl pickup.


Attached File(s) Thumbnail(s)
       

5 Cell Series
NaOH electrolyte
3.5" X 5" Electrodes
(This post was last modified: 08-01-2008 04:40 AM by dirty273.)
07-15-2008 03:54 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gary Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1,542
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #2
RE: My NEW Cell Needs Help?!?!
I swear it's closer to a CUP of NaOH than a tsp. That's your first problem. Man, that thing is YUGE! You won't have to add water but twice a year!
3.5x5=17.5x2=35 sq. in. per cell x 2 amps. = 70 amp capacity according to the formula, but of course that's impossible without melting the case down, and you'd need huge connections.
Wire size and connections are another consideration many don't bother with, and wonder why it doesn't produce. I hope that's 10 g. wire you have there.
07-15-2008 05:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dirty273 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: My NEW Cell Needs Help?!?!
YES it is 10ga. I used SS water hose clamps cut to length and drill holes in ends for nylon bolts to connect each cell. You can't really see them clear but they run over the cell dividers to the next cell.

I just need more production.

So I need more NaOH then?

5 Cell Series
NaOH electrolyte
3.5" X 5" Electrodes
07-15-2008 05:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gary Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1,542
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #4
RE: My NEW Cell Needs Help?!?!
You'll need a LOT more NaOH. Series cells are totally different in this regard. Also, as I was trying to maximise my unit (to see what it'd do) I hit a point of concentration where it just dropped off completely; had to put water back in it to make it work again. Weird stuff, and the amps weren't all that high yet either.
07-15-2008 06:41 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dirty273 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: My NEW Cell Needs Help?!?!
How much was too much?

From what I have seen not possible to produce 1L/min for less than 20 AMPS. True?

5 Cell Series
NaOH electrolyte
3.5" X 5" Electrodes
(This post was last modified: 07-15-2008 09:20 AM by dirty273.)
07-15-2008 07:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
tjh566 Offline
HydroCrazy
***

Posts: 115
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: My NEW Cell Needs Help?!?!
no totally not true, at 11-12amps my cell can produce 1 LPM, Ive heard of some doing it at 9 and 10 amps .
07-15-2008 12:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gary Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1,542
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #7
RE: My NEW Cell Needs Help?!?!
tjh, yours must be a series cell. I haven't seen any bricks that do it without the amps mentioned.
07-15-2008 12:59 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
tjh566 Offline
HydroCrazy
***

Posts: 115
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: My NEW Cell Needs Help?!?!
yes it is a series cell, I thought his question was in general, but yeah for a smack type booster yeah around 20 amps.
07-15-2008 02:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
dirty273 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 33
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: My NEW Cell Needs Help?!?!
ok! I just added new electrolyte(6teaspoons/gal).

Producing right at 1L/min.
pulls only 8amps!

Ha finally. I can't wait for my efie!

I may not need so much on my 4cyl Ranger though.

5 Cell Series
NaOH electrolyte
3.5" X 5" Electrodes
07-15-2008 04:11 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
tjh566 Offline
HydroCrazy
***

Posts: 115
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: My NEW Cell Needs Help?!?!
Nice numbers man!

How exactly did you build that enclosure i've been thinking of something like that but i don't know how to attach the plexi-glass together efficiently.
07-15-2008 04:17 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)