Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Newbie Here Saying Hello
jjski78 Offline

Newbie Here Saying Hello
Just wanted to say hello. A friend of mine emailed me a PDF file from one of the many websites with plans to build an HHO generator, so I decided to seek out a forum and check to see if this was nothing more than snake oil. Apparently it isn't. So hopefully, I will be building and installing an electrlyzer on my 2005 Nissan Frontier 4.0. I'm hoping to bring the mileage up from it's current average of 19MPG to anywhere from 30-40 or beyond. I have noticed a lot of people using the EFIE on their cars, and while it seems to be a fantastic product, I was wondering one thing...In my old car (2001 Galant), I put a header on it that deleted the pre-cat. When I did this it obviously tripped the SES light. To correct the problem I bought a simple O2 Sensor simulator for $30 and the light went away. All this was was a simple circuit wired to the signal leads of the sensor that sent a dummy signal to the ECU saying everything was good. My question is this...if it sends a dummy signal the whole time, showing proper readings to the ECU, what is the advantage of the EFIE over the O2 Simulator?? Just a thought I had. Anyways, hello from Arkansas, and hopefully I can get this gas pig to turn gas sipper. In the meantime, I'm shopping for a scooter.
06-04-2008 05:40 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
rpatzer Offline

RE: Newbie Here Saying Hello
I take it your dummy signal to the ECU is constant. One advantage of the EFIE is that it can be dialed, depending on your mod requirements.
06-04-2008 05:46 AM
jjski78 Offline

Yeah, it's a constant signal. It's a small chip encased in epoxy that sends a constant signal to the ECU telling it all is well. I'm thinking just a basic HHO generator, O2 extenders (where do you get those???!!), and the EFIE.
06-04-2008 05:59 AM
hansintheusa Offline

Hi JJ,