Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
Author Message
Captbobby Offline
Member
***

Posts: 10
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
Just received Mikes new dual sensor EFIE for my 2008 Jeep Wrangler
When measureing the voltage for each sensor discovered 4.17 and 4.18 volts coming back
Everything I've read says the voltage should be in the .2 neighborhood so obviously this is a TAD high !!!
These are 4 wire sensors and they were hot when tested
Is there a way to use this unit or am I hosed ?

PS I understand from last nights conversations that this unit won't work with my AFR system but am wondering if Mike is working on something that will or perhaps I haven't explored all other options

Thanks for any help
09-18-2008 09:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
JonnyBravo Offline
Member
***

Posts: 62
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
Unfortunately, Mike's EFIE won't work with 4-wire AFR sensors at all. If you haven't installed the EFIE yet, you can return it for a refund. If you did, you'll have to sell it to recoup your cost on it. The word on this forum is that Mike is working on a EFIE designed for AFR sensors and should have something out around Christmas time.

In the meantime, you could try modding your MAF/MAP sensor to lean out the fuel.

'94 Ford Explorer 4.0L - Fargo, ND
09-18-2008 12:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #3
RE: Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
We hope to be testing the new Efie2 in the next few weeks. If things go as expected, you should see them available in December.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
09-18-2008 03:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
justing Offline
Member
***

Posts: 46
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
use resistors on an AFR

Justin Green
Chattanooga TN
2004 Kia Optima
from 22MPG to 26.5MPG
VOLO FS-2
09-19-2008 11:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #5
RE: Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
Resistors didn't work on my Toyota.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
09-19-2008 07:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
thomasbala Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 629
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #6
RE: Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
justing Wrote:use resistors on an AFR

Could you explain why a resistor would work? Does decreasing the AFR voltage signal tell the ECU to lean out the mixture?
09-19-2008 10:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #7
RE: Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
Air-fuel sensors work differently than narrow band o2's.

With o2's (voltage based) we want to raise the voltage, with air-fuel sensors (current based), we want to offset the zero current point.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
09-20-2008 02:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Pat Offline
Member
***

Posts: 50
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
Just where and how would you hook up a resistor? What value resistor?
09-21-2008 02:38 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #9
RE: Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
See my Tuning for Mileage link.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
09-21-2008 06:36 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
originalmazdawg Offline
Member
***

Posts: 12
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: Newest dual EFIE doesn't work with AFR systen
colchiro Wrote:Air-fuel sensors work differently than narrow band o2's.

With o2's (voltage based) we want to raise the voltage, with air-fuel sensors (current based), we want to offset the zero current point.

Raise the voltage to what?
09-24-2008 12:24 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)