Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
No MPG increase as of yet, Looking for suggestions
candria77 Offline

No MPG increase as of yet, Looking for suggestions
I have a 2007 Toyota FJ Cruiser. I installed a HHO Generator that came with a PWM module as well as an EFIE. The EFIE it came with did not seem to work even though the company (http://www.hybridconversions.com)I bought it from claimed that they had their system working on an FJ. I am committed to giving this thing every chance I can as long is it doesnt break my bank and I still see a ROI. So I purchased a wide band EFIE from here had that installed and everything seems to be working, except I am not seeing any changes positive or negative in MPG. The HHO generator is kicking out some serious Hydrogen as I have done a torch test. It is hooked up to the air intake manifold, and I have the EFIE hooked up to a seperate switch. I am not a mechanic, but have been working with two mechanics on this, but I would rather not spend any more cash on them if I dont have to.

I have a couple if hunches with my limited motor vehicle knowledge.

1) I cant see it, but I am not convinced the HHO is being sucked into the air intake manifold from the bubbler(resorvior)

2) if it is being sucked in, I wonder if the setting on my wide band EFIE is not optimized. I just got it to where its in open loop and I am not getting any check engine lights and its running smoothly at idle.

Does anyone have any suggestions on what to look for?
01-21-2009 07:25 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline

RE: No MPG increase as of yet, Looking for suggestions
We're going to need some specs.

What size engine?
How many amps is your cell drawing?
How many LPM does your cell produce? (Have you checked it?)

You'll need 1-2 LPM per 2 liters of engine size (depending on who you ask).

Toyotas can be a tough nut to crack, I suspect the VVT-i (variable valve timing) engine is to blame, or at least that's my theory.