Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
No change
Author Message
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
No change
Well I spent this weekend reconfiguring my generator. Went from a 4 container, 4 cell unit to a 3 container 6 cell unit. The new configuration is seeing about 1.9 volts across each cell. At 18 amps using about 7% NaOH still making only 1 L per min. This after reconfiguring, resanding the plates, recleaned and conditioned for 16 hours and then wrapping them.

Man, I need some serious help!
Randy
11-02-2008 02:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zolar1 Offline
Got a Cheezeburger 4 me?
***

Posts: 185
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: No change
I just made my electrodes out of 2 stainless steel strainer spoons today. I put a HUGE neutral plate between the 2. The unit heats up fast, amps stabilize around 14-16, and output seems very strong, without vacuum.

I made this one because I needed fast heat-up and good production for the wintertime. I.E. for those short 20 minute trips.

I also tested an 11 plate cell. It draws about 8-9 amps and puts out almost the same as the other one, except it takes forever to heat up.

You say no change? Is that output or MPG?

How big are your plates? As in how many inches wide x tall x # of plates? And your plate spacing?
11-02-2008 03:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: No change
now using 36 plates, 2"X 4.5", 1/16" thick, spaced at 1/8".
No change in production. At 1 L per min. I'm pretty sure it will have no measurable effect on fuel economy on my 444 CI diesel.
Randy
11-02-2008 03:50 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zolar1 Offline
Got a Cheezeburger 4 me?
***

Posts: 185
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: No change
Best reported gains for typical diesel owners is about 20% increase.

Try this configuration:

6 cells in series.

In each cell, assemble your plates like this: - + -

Electrically make sure they are in series.

I have noticed that tall cells don't appear to put out as much as horizontal cells with long plates.
11-02-2008 04:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
pimpa Offline
Member
***

Posts: 105
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: No change
ran440 Wrote:Well I spent this weekend reconfiguring my generator. Went from a 4 container, 4 cell unit to a 3 container 6 cell unit. The new configuration is seeing about 1.9 volts across each cell. At 18 amps using about 7% NaOH still making only 1 L per min. This after reconfiguring, resanding the plates, recleaned and conditioned for 16 hours and then wrapping them.

Man, I need some serious help!
Randy


conditioning and sanding will not increase efficiency.
without proper wrapping, do not expect high output and low current at the same time!
1.9V/cell doesn't mean that the neutrals are 100% active!
11-02-2008 04:29 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: No change
Did wrap the plates. Check'em out.
http://community.webshots.com/album/5681...=community
Randy
11-02-2008 04:39 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zolar1 Offline
Got a Cheezeburger 4 me?
***

Posts: 185
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: No change
Some people claim you need a 1:1 ratio. That is 1LPM of Hydroxy for each liter of engine size.
11-02-2008 05:40 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #8
RE: No change
Dang. So you're saying I need to be producing 7.3 L per min.
I was hoping to get by on 3 L per min. And I am barely making 1 L.
11-02-2008 06:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Zolar1 Offline
Got a Cheezeburger 4 me?
***

Posts: 185
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: No change
Well, since you have a diesel, you might only need 20% of that value.

Also, have you tried acetone in your fuel?

3oz/10gal and adjust up/down until you see a difference.

Klean Strip makes pure Acetone. Do not use nail polish remover as it has bad impurities in it.

Feel free to email me directly if desired.
11-02-2008 06:09 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ran440 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #10
RE: No change
A lot of people think that Acetone doesn't work.
I for one had good results using it with Petro diesel. Not so well with my home brew Biodiesel.
Stopped using it when I install the HHO.
Wanted to see if the HHO by itself made a difference.
(This post was last modified: 11-02-2008 06:24 PM by ran440.)
11-02-2008 06:19 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)