Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Open loop
Author Message
NoMoGas Offline
Member
***

Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Open loop
I was not getting gains using my EFIE, so replace my O2 sensor. After doing this, I am staying in open loop. I turned the EFIE down to 100 mv, and even turned it off. I stayed in open loop. Anyone know why and how to fix it?
11-04-2008 04:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
thomasbala Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 629
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #2
RE: Open loop
NoMoGas Wrote:I was not getting gains using my EFIE, so replace my O2 sensor. After doing this, I am staying in open loop. I turned the EFIE down to 100 mv, and even turned it off. I stayed in open loop. Anyone know why and how to fix it?

Did you reconnect the wires to the O2 sensor? Did you unknowingly unplug something in the harness? Do you have a defective "new" O2 sensor? The most frequent reason you stay in open loop is a bad O2 sensor or an O2 sensor that isn't hooked up or hooked up right. Check your wiring!
11-04-2008 04:12 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #3
RE: Open loop
What comes to my mind....

wrong o2 type
o2 wired wrong
poor or loose connections

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
11-04-2008 04:23 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
NoMoGas Offline
Member
***

Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: Open loop
I did get the sensor that plugs directly in, so there was no re-wiring. I will check to see if the plugs are pushed together tight. I assume I don't need to reset the ECU or anything like that.
11-04-2008 05:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
hydrotinkerer Offline
Member
***

Posts: 367
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Open loop
What kind of vehicle, yr model? What brand o2 sensor did you buy?
11-04-2008 05:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #6
RE: Open loop
1997 Honda I assume. http://www.fuel-saver.org/showthread.php?tid=1477

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
11-04-2008 05:41 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
NoMoGas Offline
Member
***

Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: Open loop
I guess while plugging and unplugging I knocked loose the wire to my EFIE. Thanks for the help.
11-04-2008 06:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #8
RE: Open loop
That would do it. Glad you got it fixed so fast.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
11-04-2008 07:42 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
NoMoGas Offline
Member
***

Posts: 16
Joined: Aug 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: Open loop
BTW, could an old (144K miles) O2 sensor keep me from getting gains? I was not getting codes or having any other obvious issues. Without HHO, I get 32-33 MPG mixed driving, so it didn't seen to hurt mileage.
11-09-2008 05:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #10
RE: Open loop
I usually suggest replacing every 100k miles. Many people suggest doing that sooner.

I'm confused. I thought you said above (first post) that you replaced them?

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
11-09-2008 05:33 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)