Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
PWM Schooling????
palongee1 Offline

PWM Schooling????
Hey, newbie here. Ive recently put together a generator, smack design pretty much and installed it in my truck. I think I understand the basic idea of the pwm...basicly it pulses power to the cell so its not a "constant on" so to speak which helps to keep the heat down...?am I on track here. Ive also read that some pwm's have multiple adjustments...current and Hz. I guess what im trying to figure out is if you power up your unit and set the pwm to say 15A, is that the max current it will draw even once its warmed up? The way I see it is if you control the amps you control the heat as well? As far as the Hz adjustment goes, is that how fast it cycles on and off?...ive been reading all over the net and havent found much that thouroughly explains it..so here I amSmile...id like to find one that will do both if one exists, any input here? thanks for your time...Mike
11-11-2008 03:27 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
realtyroy Offline

RE: PWM Schooling????
palongee1 Wrote:Hey, newbie here. Ive recently put together a generator, smack design pretty much and installed it in my truck. I think I understand the basic idea of the pwm...basicly it pulses power to the cell so its not a "constant on" so to speak which helps to keep the heat down...?am I on track here. Ive also read that some pwm's have multiple adjustments...current and Hz. I guess what im trying to figure out is if you power up your unit and set the pwm to say 15A, is that the max current it will draw even once its warmed up? The way I see it is if you control the amps you control the heat as well? As far as the Hz adjustment goes, is that how fast it cycles on and off?...ive been reading all over the net and havent found much that thouroughly explains it..so here I amSmile...id like to find one that will do both if one exists, any input here? thanks for your time...Mike