Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Problems with Dutchman systems
Paulusgnome Offline

Problems with Dutchman systems
I spotted this thread on another forum. The poster has spent a lot of time and money with Dutchman's authorised installers, including a once-a-week visit for several months so the system could be 'tuned', and so far he has seen no gains in fuel mileage at all, and has finally got them to admit defeat and give him a refund.
Does anyone here have any experiences with the Dutchman system? Can anyone suggest where they went wrong with this installation?
12-15-2008 11:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
wpvk818 Offline

RE: Problems with Dutchman systems
Sounds to me like the tuner was incompetant. If the ECU is throwing codes the tuning parameters were likely way out of whack. I have no direct experience with the HAFC kit but I replicated almost every aspect of it (including the tuning taught by m. holler) with great success in my car.
12-15-2008 07:59 PM
thomasbala Offline

Paulusgnome Wrote:I spotted this thread on another forum. The poster has spent a lot of time and money with Dutchman's authorised installers, including a once-a-week visit for several months so the system could be 'tuned', and so far he has seen no gains in fuel mileage at all, and has finally got them to admit defeat and give him a refund.
Does anyone here have any experiences with the Dutchman system? Can anyone suggest where they went wrong with this installation?
They went wrong as soon as they saw the vehicle was a Toyota. HHO works with O2 sensors using an EFIE. HHO does not work on cars with A/F sensors, like Toyotas. An EFIE doesn't work on A/F sensors; thus when you add HHO the A/F sensor sends a lean signal to the ECU which increases the pulse width to the injectors causing more gas to be injected and poor gas mileage. Further it sounds like he had Curly, Larry and Moe working on his Corolla.
12-15-2008 09:34 PM
gtkco Offline