Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Squelch the FEAR
mgmrick Offline

Squelch the FEAR
The biggest doubters I am running into is the fear of damage to their engine

How about some users posting how long they have been running with out damage to engine.

Input from guys in the know as to why this is even better for the engine would be a plus.

I am new to this but been running 2 weeks about 500 miles and my engine never sounded so good.

Thanks
Rick
06-27-2008 09:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
jksav7 Offline

RE: Squelch the FEAR
Been running hydroxy off and on for the last 4 months or so in two different vehicles. Probably logged at least a few thousand miles with it.

I have been driving the pickup more lately (testing it), so I've run 1500 miles (all with hydroxy) since the last oil change. I pulled the dipstick the other day, expecting the oil to look quite dark. Normally it is quite dark by 1500 miles, but this time it is still clear. There is enough pollution in it to tell it's not fresh from the bottle, but it's still very clear enough so that I can easily read the hash marks on the dipstick, even though the oil is coating it.

As long as there is a bubbler inline to scrub the hydroxy of any potential caustic fumes then there definitely won't be any problems.

Wulfram, a member here, is running the hydroxy without a bubbler. He's put quite a few miles on his Probe that way. He hasn't reported any problems of any kind. The only problem is that he's making the rest of us jeolous with his 70+ mpg.
(This post was last modified: 06-27-2008 10:41 PM by jksav7.)
06-27-2008 10:40 PM
ricker1078 Offline

jksav7 Wrote:Been running hydroxy off and on for the last 4 months or so in two different vehicles. Probably logged at least a few thousand miles with it.