Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Starting simple
Malice 1 Offline

Starting simple
Quick Intro:
This is my first post. I drive a 94 chevy camaro z28. I am a USMC strike fighter pilot. I'm tired of supporting the oil companies, and the carbon footprint I make in my jet in 1 flight is more than most of you will make in your lifetime. I figured it's about time for me to help out the environment a little, since I do ALOT to destroy it.

My camaro is considered a gas hog by most, but I have been getting stellar results with simple mods. It has a huge aftermarket, so I'm having an easy time. I have been runing very strict testing on my MPG during my weekly commutes.

I bought the car with an aftermarket cold air intake and flowmaster catback exhaust. When I drove it like a typical camaro owner, I was getting 19-21mpg highway.

First mod: Slow down!! I restricted my speed to 4mph over the limit on any given road. I also restricted my shifting(manual trans) to 2200rpm, and accelerations to 20% throttle. This alone brought me up to 28.2mpg. I use this as a baseline.

My next mod was increasing the tire pressure from 33psi, to 44psi. I feel that high pressure is unsafe in any weather except hot dry weather, so I change it often. 44psi in all tires got me 29.4mpg.

Next I removed my tool kit, gym bag, and ALL OTHER junk in the car that wasn't absolutley necessary for the trip I was taking. I had been toting around 70lb of junk in the trunk! Thats a big difference on a 3300lb car. I also gave the car a good wash/detail/claybar/wax, but I doubt that the decrease in laminar flow over the body really did anything for mpg. I got 31.6mpg on that series of tests.

That is what my tests have gotten me so far.

Next I plan on installing a set of edelbrock mid-length headers, a high flow catalytic converter, and new o2 sensors for less restrictive exhaust flow.. Shortly after that I'll put on underdrive pulleys for less engine accessory drag.