Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
Tube size?
Author Message
gtkco Offline
Member
***

Posts: 322
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Tube size?
Quick question for those of you using fully submerged units. I have 1/4 id tubing and 1/4 barbs which works fine for just the gas. Been using it with my bench testing gen which isn't a fully submerged system. But I am now starting to build a fully submerged system. So I am thinking that 1/4" ID might not be wide enough for recirculating the fluid with the bubbles, escpecially if the elyte gets thick during the cold season. What size id tube are you using for you input and output hoses? Any responses are appreciated.
11-30-2008 08:32 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gary Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1,542
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #2
RE: Tube size?
gtkco Wrote:Quick question for those of you using fully submerged units.
I'll assume you're talking about a brickinnabath unit.
I have 1/4 id tubing and 1/4 barbs which works fine for just the gas. Been using it with my bench testing gen which isn't a fully submerged system. But I am now starting to build a fully submerged system. So I am thinking that 1/4" ID might not be wide enough for recirculating the fluid with the bubbles, escpecially if the elyte gets thick during the cold season.
I've found that 1/4" barbs can pass a litre/min. quite easily even with a submerged unit, since half of what is coming out of the hose is gas. If you're getting to larger outputs, you might want to increase.
11-30-2008 05:18 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
stl_hemi Offline
Member
***

Posts: 166
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: Tube size?
I run 3/8" ID hose in and out of each drycell.

Paul
2004 Dodge Ram 2500 QC Hemi Off Road
5" of lift with 35" Super Swamper SSR's

Trucks forsale
Buying a 2010 Ram 3500 Mega CTD Smile
11-30-2008 06:21 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gary Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1,542
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #4
RE: Tube size?
Yeah, Hemi, but you run over 2 Liters! ...big #**#%* showoff... Smile
11-30-2008 06:47 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
stl_hemi Offline
Member
***

Posts: 166
Joined: Sep 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: Tube size?
Smile sorry............................ I have 7500lbs of truck to move.

Paul
2004 Dodge Ram 2500 QC Hemi Off Road
5" of lift with 35" Super Swamper SSR's

Trucks forsale
Buying a 2010 Ram 3500 Mega CTD Smile
11-30-2008 09:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
gtkco Offline
Member
***

Posts: 322
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: Tube size?
Well, there is no problem with my gen doing over a liter per minute. I'll start with the 1/4" id. I've got all the stuff any how. Thanks for the replies!
11-30-2008 09:03 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Gary Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1,542
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 4
Post: #7
RE: Tube size?
Just keep in mind that if your plates have a 3/8" exhaust hole and your endblock has a 1/4" barb in it, you do NOT have a 3/8" exhaust. Actually, you have something like a 1/8" exhaust, or thereabout. (haven't stuck a drillbit in to measure)
12-01-2008 01:07 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)