Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
UNPLUG THE O2 SENSORS
Author Message
MRGADGET Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
UNPLUG THE O2 SENSORS
I unpluged my O2 sensors and am controling my MAP sensor to adjust my AFR. I figured this was way easier to do than have a lot of electronics to buy or build and I have 1 knob to contind with. Please share your thoughts and ideas. I will post my results when I have some.
06-15-2008 02:32 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
tjh566 Offline
HydroCrazy
***

Posts: 115
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: UNPLUG THE O2 SENSORS
Someone correct me here if i'm wrong, with the o2's unpluged the car will throw a check engine light and go into what is called a "limp" mode which makes your car run rich and it ignores information from sensors until the problem is fixed. So you would lose MPG and would not be able to tune with the method you are talking about, Now if you have a tuner where you could edit your tables this would be possible, I know in the performance world where i get my tuning experience from some people force open loop and change the tables and watch the changes via a wideband o2, they then dont have to deal with sensors anymore.
06-15-2008 03:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
CitatioN10 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 131
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: UNPLUG THE O2 SENSORS
Yeah I never would dare to jut unplug them .
06-15-2008 07:53 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)