Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
Wet vs. dry cell
lucky55 Offline

Wet vs. dry cell
Big Grin Re- wet cells i hear they are less efficient than dry cells due to leakage off the edges of the plates. Q. what if one was to paint all the edges of all the plates with GLYPTAL (electrical insulating varnish) would that elliminate these losesl? If so, output for amount of SS can be maximized due to waste of SS from the gasket out to the edge being at the outer edge. Even 1/8" wide would be a fair area due to it's length. i live and learn from opinions of others.
Confused I'm a newbie to this hho, but been industrial electrician for 35 years.
06-07-2009 04:09 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
ptours99 Offline

RE: Wet vs. dry cell
well your saying that 1/8'' would be like an o ring and it would work if you had a groove cut in for it to fit cuz w/out a groove there isn't enough of that material to contain leakage after a few heat cycles you keep torquing down bolts and that type of compression would make it to thin.tightening process may take more than a few torquing sessions.unless your going to use a material that doesn't collapse.

selling an enclosure for the rear of cab semi truck 28''X20''X6'' CUSTOM MADE ALUMINUM TO HOUSE HHO GENERATORS AND INCLUDING A RESERVOIR BUBBLER AND REGULAR BUBBLR ptoures@sbcglobal.net usa only
06-07-2009 05:49 AM
lucky55 Offline

What I was getting at, was to maximize the plate surface for electrolisis, much of which is lost under any kind of gasket or O ring. thanks
06-07-2009 08:06 AM
abe Offline

(06-07-2009 08:06 AM)lucky55 Wrote:  What I was getting at, was to maximize the plate surface for electrolisis, much of which is lost under any kind of gasket or O ring. thanks