Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 1 Votes - 5 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
altitude sensor
Author Message
fixityourselfer Offline
Member
***

Posts: 78
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
altitude sensor
98 volvo uses the maf sensor instead of a map sensor. one of the things i'd like to do when i "lower my lean out parameters" is to mod my altitude sensor, so the car will think it's at a higher elevation.

i've searched high and low and cannot find any info anywhere on how the sensor works. its also called a baro sensor. perhaps anyone has any info on this??
05-25-2009 01:37 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
bambos Offline
Member
***

Posts: 10
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
Sad RE: altitude sensor
The altitude sensor on most Toyota vehicles are in build part of the ECU.
I suspect the volvo would be the same!!!!
(This post was last modified: 06-14-2009 12:04 AM by bambos.)
06-14-2009 12:04 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
fixityourselfer Offline
Member
***

Posts: 78
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: altitude sensor
(06-14-2009 12:04 AM)bambos Wrote:  The altitude sensor on most Toyota vehicles are in build part of the ECU.
I suspect the volvo would be the same!!!!

NO its not its 2 feet away connected with some wiring
06-20-2009 09:07 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
bambos Offline
Member
***

Posts: 10
Joined: May 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: altitude sensor
NO its not its 2 feet away connected with some wiring
[/quote]

fixityourselfer
This is the email I received from Toyota.
Thank you for contacting Toyota Customer Experience Centre.

In relation to your enquiry, yes we do have altitude sensors which are built into the ECU as outlined in the attachment you have emailed and would be in your 2007 Rav 4.

Thank you for contacting Toyota and allowing us the opportunity to respond.
After talking to the service department they told me the altitude sensors on most Toyota vehicles are in build part of the ECU.
But if you can post a picture where they are or what they look like it would be appreciated.
06-20-2009 11:58 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
fixityourselfer Offline
Member
***

Posts: 78
Joined: Apr 2009
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: altitude sensor
well your info is correct for toyota but not for my volvo. i know my whole car layout inside out. the ecu is right on top of the right hand wheel well, and the altitude sensor is two feet ahead of it connected with a connector and 2 feet of wire.

i want to mod this thing along with the other sensors, but i don't know how it works . i'd need to check it's output, then drive to the top of a mountain and recheck it!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

then i'd know how to mod it!





now if you reallly don't believe that i know what i'm talking about, here it is.

it mounts right behind the right hand headlamp!!

http://www.fcpgroton.com/search.php?node...&do=search

seriously, if anyone has any knowledge on these, please post.
06-22-2009 06:45 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
TheCell Offline
Member
***

Posts: 50
Joined: Jan 2009
Reputation: -5
Post: #6
RE: altitude sensor
......
(This post was last modified: 05-05-2010 10:51 PM by TheCell.)
01-13-2010 08:40 PM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)