Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
efie working truck not responding
Author Message
sdom001 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
efie working truck not responding
Hello to All,
I installed a single efie, input to the efie is 600mv out put is set to 300mv more than input. If I understand the way these work, If I have my gen off the truck should start to run rough because the computer should be leaning out the mix Correct? Well if so my truck is still running at the same idle no matter how much I adjust the EFIE up or down.

2. How long should I have to wait for a change in Idle after making a change on the efie?
11-01-2008 04:04 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #2
RE: efie working truck not responding
It's always best to start out low and slowing increase it. I'd start at 150 mv.

How can you say the input to the efie is 600mv? It should be a rapidly changing voltage between .1 and 1 VDC and hard to tell what number it is.

We don't care what the idle is. If it's a valid setting you should always have a smooth idle.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
11-01-2008 04:16 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
sdom001 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: efie working truck not responding
I said it was 600mv because thats what the multi-meter was displaying.

When I talked about idle I meant that if the efie was sending a signal that the mix was rich when it was not then the computer would remove gas to compensate for the rich condition therefore it would idle rough do to less fuel than air ratio, Is that not correct?
11-01-2008 04:34 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #4
RE: efie working truck not responding
Yes, the efie tells the ecu the mixture is richer so it will lean it out.

Depending on the vehicle, if you have a very high setting, it may go into open loop without throwing a code or it may throw a lean code or a defective o2 code. Since you have an older vehicle, I'm not sure what to expect.

I'm not confident you have it connected to the right wire. I know you have a '88 Bronco and you found the wire yourself, but that's it.

Can you confirm or deny you have a varying voltage like I described?

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
11-01-2008 05:51 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
sdom001 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: efie working truck not responding
I can't confirm the varying voltage. I can only confirm that I think I have the signal wire. I have 3 wires, when the key was on, 1 read over 12vdc, 1 read 0vdc, the 3rd read .45vdc. If I connected the first two wires into the multimeter then it also read over 12vdc therfore I guessed those were not the signal wire the third one was.
11-01-2008 06:13 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #6
RE: efie working truck not responding
Correct, a heated o2 should have those signals. Was that .45 vdc with the engine warmed up and running?

How many miles on the o2 sensor? It should be replace every 100k miles or so.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
(This post was last modified: 11-01-2008 06:27 PM by colchiro.)
11-01-2008 06:26 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
sdom001 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #7
RE: efie working truck not responding
No the engine was not warm I only turned on the key to test for signal wire. I don't know how old the sensor is I bought the truck used 2 yrs ago. the sensor itself doesn't look that old. At least not over 100k miles.
11-01-2008 06:48 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #8
RE: efie working truck not responding
Can you recheck that voltage after the engine has been running for at least 10 minutes?

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
11-01-2008 07:00 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
sdom001 Offline
Member
***

Posts: 21
Joined: Oct 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #9
RE: efie working truck not responding
yes I'll try it tomorrow. thanx
11-01-2008 07:02 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #10
RE: efie working truck not responding
Good luck.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
11-01-2008 07:15 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)