Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
keeps going in to open loop
Author Message
wildbill2mm Offline
Member
***

Posts: 1
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
keeps going in to open loop
installed an hho in my chevy truck. installed your EFIE duel both banks at 250 mil. went in to open loop went down to 200 mil. still went in to open loop. you show other mods which would be best for my truck. i keep hearing about MAP censers & you show how to build one. this is a little over my head. could you recommend a premade one. and will this help me . hope you can help .
07-25-2008 09:46 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
rwhit Offline
Member
***

Posts: 43
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: keeps going in to open loop
Wild bill you may have to go lower on the EFIE Settings to keep from going into open loop and then use a MAP sensor and other mods to get the results you are looking for. Check out the tuning for mileage section under documents in this fourm for info on other mods.

Hope this helps Rusty
07-25-2008 10:55 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
tesla Offline
Member
***

Posts: 58
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #3
RE: keeps going in to open loop
O2 voltage shouldn't make the ECU go into open loop........that's normally the realm of the coolant temp sensor. The ECU looks at the engine temp to decide when to go to closed loop.

...same thing we do every night Pinky, plan to take over the world!
07-25-2008 05:20 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
rwhit Offline
Member
***

Posts: 43
Joined: Jun 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: keeps going in to open loop
tesla If the O2 sensor is not working or is giving the wrong voltage the ECU will go into open loop and ignore the O2 sensor just as if the engine was cold.

Rusty
07-25-2008 05:28 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
tesla Offline
Member
***

Posts: 58
Joined: Jul 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #5
RE: keeps going in to open loop
Well spank me silly and call me a cab....d'oh! Of course you be correct, loss of sensor input (or signal way outside of normal parameters) will cause open poop, er, loop.

I'll blame my brain fart on sunspot activity and my weekend celebratory liver poisoning potion (Jack Daniels). *hic*

...same thing we do every night Pinky, plan to take over the world!
07-25-2008 06:44 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #6
RE: keeps going in to open loop
Bill, how much current on your hho cell?

Have you checked it for leaks? (Brush soapy water on it and watch for bubbles.)

Have you measured the output of your cell?

How are you bringing hho into your engine?

I think the EFIE is working, but the cell isn't doing it's job.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
07-25-2008 07:31 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)