Post Reply 
 
Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
  • 1
  • 2
  • 3
  • 4
  • 5
make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
Author Message
Grisen Offline
Member
***

Posts: 45
Joined: Apr 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #1
Wink make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
Make sure to follow Mike's instructions to connect the EFIE's white wire on the computer (ECU) side and the green wire on the oxygen sensor side. Otherwise, the EFIE will give the engine the command to RICHEN the fuel mix.

I made this mistake on my vehicle and drove it the wrong way for three weeks. I don't believe I'm stupid, just in a hurry and used to alternating current. DC current flows in one direction, so the EFIE will either add or subtract voltage depending on wiring.

I wonder how many other intelligent (handsome ) in-a-hurry people have done the same as I did.
06-28-2008 06:46 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
HerronPerformance Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 101
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #2
RE: make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
YEP!!
I just installed an EFIE ONLY on my Dodge Grand Caravan, doing more testing but I think it is going to help some. time will tell.

http://www.herronperformance.com
06-29-2008 09:34 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #3
RE: make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
Installing it backwards is an option to try for those with an air-fuel sensor and already own the EFIE. Maybe this picture explains why that works:

[Image: 105625a.jpg]

It appears that connecting it to the VSS wire (stable one, not the fluctuating one) might be the proper way to use it with an air-fuel sensor.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
(This post was last modified: 06-29-2008 09:44 AM by colchiro.)
06-29-2008 09:42 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
HerronPerformance Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 101
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #4
RE: make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
interesting for the AFR sensors...

http://www.herronperformance.com
06-29-2008 09:45 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #5
RE: make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
HerronPerformance Wrote:interesting for the AFR sensors...

The credit goes to mtthhrs for that discovery.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
06-29-2008 10:14 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
HerronPerformance Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 101
Joined: May 2008
Reputation: 0
Post: #6
RE: make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
will mike add that to his install docs???

http://www.herronperformance.com
06-29-2008 10:17 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #7
RE: make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
We're still waiting for someone else to confirm it. Mtthhrs was going to do some mileage testing and report his findings.

If I had found my EFIE before leaving town for the weekendMad, I would have had tried it.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
06-29-2008 10:24 AM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
mike Offline
Senior Member
****

Posts: 2,020
Joined: Jul 2007
Reputation: 7
Post: #8
RE: make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
HerronPerformance Wrote:will mike add that to his install docs???

I am watching this one very closely and have PMs in with Mtthhrs to make sure I stay abreast of it. But once we get a good confirmed kill on this, I will be creating a new sticky in the Sensors forum, and will add a section in the instructions as well.

Don't worry, if it works out, and it looks like it will, I won't lose the data. It's too valuable!

[Image: signature.gif]
Visit Our Documents Page
06-30-2008 11:40 AM
Visit this user's website Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline
Moderator
*****

Posts: 3,265
Joined: Feb 2008
Reputation: 11
Post: #9
RE: make sure you install EFIE with correct polarity
I found my EFIE. For some reason I put it back in the box and it was in plain sight.Confused

Supposed to be cooler next couple days (and raining) so that would be a good time to install. Need to go back and read the polarity for the EFIE first (normal or reversed), but my air-fuel meter should show right away if it works.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
06-30-2008 04:52 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
Post Reply 


Forum Jump:


User(s) browsing this thread: 1 Guest(s)