Thread Rating:
  • 0 Votes - 0 Average
map sensor settings?
spam Offline

map sensor settings?
I installed the HHO generator (31 plates) dry cell - EFEI - MAP voltage regulator. Currently the cell is pulling 25 amps at idle.

I did some searching in the history but couldn't find a clear/simple answer to my question regarding the MAP sensor voltage setting.

I bench set the MAP regulator to 5 V and installed.

Turned on the 1997 dodge ram 1500 w.5.9L engine. Map sensor at idle is 1.8~2.3V (nominal 2). When the MAP voltage regulator was turned on (5V) the engine ran very rough and then died.

So the questions are:

Is it correct to set the voltage at 2V for the MAP voltage?
Or set it at the normal voltage at highway speed?
Or is there some other value?

Thanks

Spam Sorenson
07-27-2009 02:01 PM
Find all posts by this user Quote this message in a reply
colchiro Offline

RE: map sensor settings?
Hi Spam.

I have no experience with your vehicle, but on any vehicle that has a map or maf mod AND an efie, needs to have all modded sensors set to a low level and leave most of the work to the efie. As an example, a modded air temp or coolant temp sensor is normally set to be only 10 deg F warmer than stock. Your map sensor should be set similarly, just a bit lower than stock, just enough to tell the ecu it's ok to go a little leaner. It sounds like you have that baby cranked waaay too high. Wink

More info on modding sensors in my Tuning for Mileage link.

Rick

Links: Documents / Tuning for Mileage | Toyota Sensors | Autoshop Sensor Tutorials
07-27-2009 03:56 PM
spam Offline

Rick,

Thank you for the response. I read your tuning guide before I started. It is a very good place to start, perhaps the best, (I read a bunch of poorly written bad info as well). Well done, it is both accurate and simple. Thanks for that, you obviously put in a lot of work.